Fiction/Literature

Where the Forest Meets the Stars by Glendy Vanderah

Where the Forest Meets the Stars by Glendy Vanderah
where the forest meets the stars

In this gorgeously stunning debut, a mysterious child teaches two strangers how to love and trust again.

Where the Forest Meets the Stars – After the loss of her mother and her own battle with breast cancer, Joanna Teale returns to her graduate research on nesting birds in rural Illinois, determined to prove that her recent hardships have not broken her. She throws herself into her work from dusk to dawn, until her solitary routine is disrupted by the appearance of a mysterious child who shows up at her cabin barefoot and covered in bruises.

The girl calls herself Ursa, and she claims to have been sent from the stars to witness five miracles. With concerns about the child’s home situation, Jo reluctantly agrees to let her stay—just until she learns more about Ursa’s past.

Jo enlists the help of her reclusive neighbor, Gabriel Nash, to solve the mystery of the charming child. But the more time they spend together, the more questions they have. How does a young girl not only read but understand Shakespeare? Why do good things keep happening in her presence? And why aren’t Jo and Gabe checking the missing children’s website anymore?

Related: On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong

Though the three have formed an incredible bond, they know difficult choices must be made. As the summer nears an end and Ursa gets closer to her fifth miracle, her dangerous past closes in. When it finally catches up to them, all of their painful secrets will be forced into the open, and their fates will be left to the stars.

From the Editor

Where the Forest Meets the Stars by debut novelist Glendy Vanderah has absolutely stolen my heart. It’s as simple as that. With gorgeous prose, a quirky cast of characters you can’t help but root for, an underlying sense of mystery that will keep you guessing from the first page to the last, and just the slightest possibility of magic, this novel has something for everyone. But what really enraptured me is that at its core, this is a novel about love in many different forms and varieties. Some will shatter your heart into a million pieces, and others will mend it back together. Because really, what better story is there than a love story?

Where the Forest Meets the Stars is one of those rare novels that makes me laugh and cry no matter how many times I’ve read it, and always leaves me with a lingering feeling of hope and happiness. Vanderah has made me a believer in the magic of everyday miracles, and for that, I’m truly grateful. I have no doubt that this story will stick with me for a very, very long time.

We also Recommend

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Though the novel appears to start as a fantasy, it evolves into a domestic drama with murder-mystery elements, all adding up to a satisfying read.” Booklist

“Enchanting, insightful, and extraordinary.” Novelgossip

“Vanderah’s beautifully human story reminds us that sometimes we need to look beyond the treetops at the stars to let some light into our lives.” —New York Journal of Books

Where the Forest Meets the Stars is a magical little gem of a book filled with lots of love and hope.” —HelloGiggles

“A captivating fantasy tale of mystery and intrigue…” Fresh Fiction

“A skillfully written and thoroughly entertaining novel by an author with a genuine gift for originality and a distinctive narrative-driven storytelling style…” —Midwest Book Review

Where the Forest Meets the Stars, by Glendy Vanderah, is an enchanting, heartwarming, not to be missed novel that is bursting with love and hope.” The Patriot Ledger

“A heartwarming, magical story about love, loss, and finding family where you least expect it. This touching novel will remind readers of a modern-day The Snow Child.” —Christopher Meades, award-winning author of Hanna Who Fell from the Sky

Where the Forest Meets the Stars is an enchanting novel full of hope and the power of love that will pull at your heartstrings. Perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen.” —Karen Katchur, author of The Sisters of Blue Mountain

About the Author

Glendy Vanderah worked as an endangered bird specialist in Illinois before she became a writer. Originally from Chicago, she now lives in rural Florida with as many birds, butterflies, and wildflowers as she can lure to her land. Where the Forest Meets the Stars is her debut novel. Visit Glendy online at http://glendyvanderah.com/

Originally published: 1 March 2019

AuthorGlendy Vanderah

Genre: Domestic Fiction

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.