Fiction/Literature

Kingdom of Ash (Throne of Glass) by Sarah J. Maas

Kingdom of Ash (Throne of Glass) by Sarah J. Maas
Kingdom of Ash

Kingdom of Ash – Years in the making, Sarah J. Maas’s #1 New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series draws to an epic, unforgettable conclusion. Aelin Galathynius’s journey from slave to king’s assassin to the queen of a once-great kingdom reaches its heart-rending finale as war erupts across her world. . .

Aelin has risked everything to save her people-but at a tremendous cost. Locked within an iron coffin by the Queen of the Fae, Aelin must draw upon her fiery will as she endures months of torture. Aware that yielding to Maeve will doom those she loves keeps her from breaking, though her resolve begins to unravel with each passing day…

With Aelin captured, Aedion and Lysandra remain the last line of defense to protect Terrasen from utter destruction. Yet they soon realize that the many allies they’ve gathered to battle Erawan’s hordes might not be enough to save them. Scattered across the continent and racing against time, Chaol, Manon, and Dorian are forced to forge their own paths to meet their fates. Hanging in the balance is any hope of salvation-and a better world.

And across the sea, his companions unwavering beside him, Rowan hunts to find his captured wife and queen-before she is lost to him forever.

As the threads of fate weave together at last, all must fight, if they are to have a chance at a future. Some bonds will grow even deeper, while others will be severed forever in the explosive final chapter of the Throne of Glass series.

Book Review by Angela Dahlstrom

Let me start by saying how much I’ve loved this series, it’s my favorite story/world of characters! I have great appreciation and respect for SJM, and have loved this journey!

I mostly loved this conclusion, she tied up the loose ends, but it felt drawn out (nearly 1000 pages) to a slightly anti-climactic ending. There were some long unnecessary parts, and a LOT of repeating things (the inner monologues of certain characters..to whatever end, walked through the darkness together etc…).

*SPOILERS
– I don’t feel that Lysandra would’ve lasted that long as Aelin. Rowan scented her as a shifter almost the moment they met, yet she’s with an army of fae who can’t tell a shifter’s scent? Oh, and Aedion was unforgivably cruel to her.
-I think Rowan could’ve helped a bit while Elide was saving Lorcan. His wind would’ve practically thrown them but he did nothing, then had enough power to protect an entire city from scorching steam.
-Gavriel’s sacrifice was unnecessary.
-Aelin bringing a whole other army through portals at the last minute was far fetched.
-why was it easier to beat Erawan and Maeve when 3 princes nearly killed them all previously.

I still loved the book and nearly bawled at the sacrifice of the 13 😭. I love these characters, but would’ve liked a better epilogue that maybe showed where the years take them. There needs to be another book!

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Fans will delight in this gorgeous edition. . . . Action-packed and full of insight into Celaena’s character. . . . What a ride!” ―Booklist on The Assassin’s Blade

“A thrilling read.” ―Publisher’s Weekly on Throne of Glass

“A must-read for lovers of epic fantasy and fairy tales.” ―USA Today on Throne of Glass

“Fans of Tamora Pierce and George R.R. Martin, pick up this book!” ―RT Book Reviews on Throne of Glass

“An epic fantasy readers will immerse themselves in and never want to leave.” ―Kirkus Reviews on Crown of Midnight

“A thrill ride of epic fantasy proportions.” ―USA Today on Crown of Midnight

“With assassinations, betrayal, love and magic, this novel has something to match everyone’s interests.” ―RT Book Reviews on Crown of Midnight

“Celaena is as much an epic hero as Frodo or Jon Snow!” ―Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling author on HEIR OF FIRE

“Maas shines as a brilliant storyteller. . . . The most exhilarating installment yet.” ―RT Book Reviews on Heir of Fire

“Impossible to put down.” ―Kirkus Reviews on Queen of Shadows

“Beautifully written prose and brilliantly crafted plots come together in this entry of the awe-inspiring fantasy series that will leave readers anticipating the next volume.” ―SLJ on Queen of Shadows

“Tightly plotted, delightful escapism.” ―Kirkus Reviews on Empire of Storms

“Sarah J. Maas turns a corner from sprawling epic to thrilling psychological fantasy….A worthy new chapter in the Throne of Glass saga.” ―HuffPost

We also Recommend

About the Author

Sarah J. Maas is the #1 New York Times and internationally bestselling author of the Court of Thorns and Roses series, as well as the Throne of Glass series. Her books are published in over thirty-six languages. A New York native, Sarah lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog.

www.sarahjmaas.com
www.facebook.com/theworldofsarahjmaas
Instagram: therealsjmaas

Originally published: 23 October 2018

AuthorSarah J. Maas

Preceded byTower of Dawn

Released after :Tower of Dawn

Released before fandom.com

Genres: Romance novel, Fantasy Fiction

AwardsGoodreads Choice Awards Best Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.